Journey – Dublin, A City Through Time: Initial proposal.

Journey

Dublin

A City Through Time

My goal is to produce a travel book aimed at the younger age groups. Primarily for new visitors to the city by way of an introduction to Dublin & the history behind it’s culture. The possible uses for this book however go far beyond just a travel book & I hope to explore more opportunities for it.

Having produced a mind map of possible directions for this project, I settled on creating the travel book. This is most likely due to my having this project on my mind for a long time anyhow & could see the 2016-09-28-13.03.19.jpg.jpgmany opportunities & possibilities for it, my mind was predisposed to finding ideas for it.  Some of the alternative ideas I created included a walking book either in Ireland or the Camino which I intend to do next year. A walking tour of Dublin, and the development of the Wild Atlantic Way.

20160929_104721.jpg
Research Mindmap

My starting point for this project was to create a mind map of dates, events, historical & cultural buildings & structures from which to draw my narrative. I have already created an outline timeline to begin my research collection. As soon as I begin to dig deeper the more information & ideas will surface.

One of the bigger challenges I face on this project is expected to be when I get to the deeper level of information on each item and in verifying the details. Also, the studies I expect to have to conduct into visitor numbers & habits are something I have never done, I expect this part to be especially challenging.

2016-09-28-13.01.57.jpg.jpg
Research Methods

I will need to gather resources from a number of areas including the historical information, which I plan to get from Books, Library, Online & visits to exhibitions & tours all over the city. I will also be hoping to gather information from publishers, Failte Ireland & the CSO. I will then also be gathering information from direct observation & studies of my own.

I have begun to dig deeper into the history of Dublin to find elements for the project, however, one of the biggest problems I have come up against is the shear volume of information that is so interesting. I am finding myself getting too dug in and am spending too much time making a comprehensive list rather than perhaps skimming the information & picking a highlights list from it.

The images here are notes & sketches I have made when researching, and the PDF below shows the beginnings of a short list I have begun so that I can start to gather elements that I will actually use instead of pure research, along with some outline sketches.

2016-11-09-20.43.35.jpg.jpg

2016-11-09-20.42.54.jpg.jpg 2016-11-09-20.44.06.jpg.jpg

book-early-pages

What is the Difference between Qualitative Research and Quantitative Research?

Irish best selling book list for September 2016, including children’s books. https://www.writing.ie/news/irish-bestseller-lists/irish-bestsellers-3rd-september-2016/ (Dissect by genre) (No travel books on the list)

Best Selling Picture Books | September 2016

Tutorial for Masking in Adobe Illustrator. Used to make the water spray on the introduction Stop motion video.

 

One thought on “Journey – Dublin, A City Through Time: Initial proposal.

Leave a Reply

