Career Map

Career Map

Personal research for career map mindmap.

Ideal professional self – This shows how I would like to see myself, what words I would like others to use to describe me in a professional capacity.

Good organisational skills. Team builder. Vision. Leader. Broad knowledge base. Open minded. Hard working. Eager to learn. Experimental. Pushes the boundaries. Work/life balanced. Encouraging. Supportive.

Ideal client or company.

A work driven but rewarding company. Willing to enable the flow & ebb of creative work. It would recognise hard work but be willing to understand that creativity isn’t on tap. Work life balance is important. Good working space, remote working facility.

Role Models.

I greatly admire people such as Sir Richard Branson, Tom Crean, Elon Musk, Dame Ellen MacArthur among others.

Execution Strategy  – This is a roadmap or strategy for how I intend to get to the goals I have set for myself.

Mind map goes here maybe.

Education & investment in myself.

Along with my diploma in graphic design I have been seeking out personal or live projects to gain some real world experience. I have been attending seminars on topics such as Cloud & Your Business in Croke Park, The global design conference Offset 2017, participation in the Shopify Partner Program which is aimed at boosting knowledge of building online eCommerce platforms.

I have also applied for a springboard course in Dublin Business School on Digital Marketing but if this is not successful I plan to partake in a series of targeted learning programs including:

  • Digital Marketing
  • Web Design
  • Motion Graphics for web marketing
  • Email marketing techniques
  • Others
  • Membership in the IDI

Desired strengths.

The list of desired strengths or talents include:

  • Web design
  • Digital marketing
  • Publication design
  • Web banners / motion graphics
  • Digital newsletters & eMarketing
  • Identity
  • Video production
  • Art Direction (Dream Job)

Current top strengths.

Good idea generation or vision. Experience. The ability to bring people together in a team. Photography. Personality / people skills. Open minded. Good communication skills.

Limits or boundries.

Illustration. Stop motion. Best business practices & codes of conduct. Pricing.

Core values.

Simplicity – Fun – Clarity – Discretion – Reliability – Support

The big WHY. – Why do I want to do the work that I am aiming for.

I love to create, I also love to find creative solutions to problems. I love to help people.

Career goals.

3-9 months: Complete Diploma. Lay solid plans for gaining more experience over the summer & into the winter. Set goals for a course of study to fill the gaps in my knowledge base.

1-3 years: Continue following my study plan. Enter industry through either internship, placement, job or personal projects / commissions. I would like to work on personal projects that stretch my talents into areas I have little experience in. For example, I have plans to shoot a 30sec promotional video for a national event organiser. I have never shot video so this would be pushing my boundary out quite a bit but would give me experience in the whole process of planning, art direction& post production.

3-5 Years +

My dream job / career would be one of art direction. Pulling together a team of creatives to suit projects of differing types.

The above headings were taken from Research behind career mapping. http://www.prolificliving.com/mindmaps-for-career-planning/

Database.

As a task, we were asked to compile a database of contacts to prepare for setting up a business. Below is a screenshot of my database, I did not want to upload a pdf for privacy reasons.

Grá – Contacts Database – Sheet1

 

Leave a Reply

